Grant for Free Speech and Open Inquiry: FAQ

Grant for Free Speech and Open Inquiry
  • How many times can I apply for a Free Speech and Open Inquiry award within an academic year?
    • There is no limit to how many applications you may submit in an academic year.
  • Is it possible to be awarded a Free Speech and Open Inquiry grant more than once?
    • Yes, it is possible to be awarded more than once under the FSOI Grant.
  • What can the Free Speech and Open Inquiry grant be used for?
    • Eligible activities include but are not limited to: research and publication activities, public, campus-wide events, workshops with research output, and teaching activities/student programs like course development, relevant training, book clubs, etc.
  • Is there a certain length you would like my answers to be on the application?
    • Once you click inside the text box under the question, a word count will appear. Please stay within this word count and put whatever additional information you have attached in a word document.
  • What should I do if the application is not submitting?
    • Try a different browser, and make sure ad or pop-up blockers are disabled. If you still have problems, contact
  • When should I plan to hear a decision regarding my Free Speech and Open Inquiry grant application?
    • Decisions are announced four weeks after the application deadline.
  • Why was my application unsuccessful?
    • Due to the high volume of applications we receive, we are unable to provide individual feedback on applications.
  • What does IHS look for in a successful application?
    • We have specific criteria depending on the program, but in general, we look at the eligibility of applicant, the eligibility of the proposed activity, and the expected or potential impact of that activity.
  • Who is eligible for the Free Speech and Open Inquiry grant?
    • You are eligible if you have a permanent, full-time faculty appointment at a four-year degree granting institution, with preference given to applicants from U.S., U.K. and Canada.